(activities on specific days subject to change)

Welcome to the Journey East 2004 trip to China and Inner Mongolia. Click on the date to learn about the events up to that point. You can click on the map links (Where are they now?) to see where the group is throughout the journey. China is 12 hours ahead of us.

Please visit the Journey East Program site to learn more about this fabulous program’s past, present and future. Okay, hang on, HERE WE GO . . .

Tuesday, March 30

Depart for Beijing

Wed., March 31

Arrival in Beijing (no activities planned for this day)

Thursday, April 1

Great Wall in day; Beijing Opera in the evening

Friday, April 2

Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City and The Temple of Heaven; Acrobats in the evening

Saturday, April 3

Check out of hotel early in the AM. Leave bags for Qufu people to pick up. Flight to Jinan, bus transport to Qufu. No welcoming activities on this evening.

Sunday, April 4

Free time in the A.M.; Confucius Mansion and Temple Welcome banquet in the evening

Monday, April 5

Activities in Qufu including:

  • Confucius Forest and birthplace;
  • lectures and painting classes;
  • visit to campus secondary school;
  • two performances.

Tuesday, April 6

Activities in Qufu

Wednesday, April 7

Activities in Qufu

Thursday, April 8

Farewell Banquet in Qufu

Friday, April 9

Early departure for Tai Shan. Stay at the Airport Hotel in the evening.

Saturday, April 10

Morning flight to Xi’an. Visit the old City Wall.

Sunday, April 11

Xi’an: Terra Cotta Warriors, Huaqing Hot Springs, Muslim

Monday, April 12

Xi’an: Temple and marketplace, Forest of Steles.

Tuesday, April 13

Direct flight from Xi’an to Hohhot. Relax.

Wed., April 14

Sleep in. Welcome Banquet in the evening.

Thursday, April 15

Activities in Hohhot.

  • Visit Zhao Jun’s Tomb
  • Collaborative work with students at Arts College
  • Performances at secondary schools in Hohhot
  • Visit local sites.
  • Rehearsals each week with students of Arts College.
  • Final Performance on April 23 (joint performance to be attended by Vermont educational leaders as well as students and teachers from Arts College.

Friday, April 16

Activities in Hohhot.

Saturday, April 17

Activities in Hohhot.

Sunday, April 18

Activities in Hohhot.

Monday, April 19

Activities in Hohhot.

Tuesday, April 20

Activities in Hohhot.

Wed., April 21

Activities in Hohhot.

Thursday, April 22

Activities in Hohhot.

Friday, April 23

Activities in Hohhot.

Saturday, April 24

Farewell Banquet

Sunday, April 25

Morning flight to Beijing, arriving by noon. Summer Palace in the afternoon

Monday, April 26

Liulichang Street; “Silk Alley;” “The Friendship Store” (shopping)

Tuesday, April 27

They’re back!! They arrive tonight. Departure from Beijing on United flight #850 at 4:35 PM.

Wed., April 28

The day after . . .